Let’s talk about time.

One of the first take away’s I got from this class was that in order to use social media effectively, content has to be #constant, #relevant, and #timely.

We’re going to talk about the last one. Time.

For starters, I’m bad at it, if my management of this assignment is anything to go by. Set me a deadline with months of time to work on the project, and I’ll probably still end up doing the bulk of the project the night before it’s due. Give me a deadline, and I’ll meet it, but I’ll meet it by the skin of my teeth. Deadlines are dangerous, but hey–I like to live on the edge.

live on the edge

(Just kidding, this is a terrible habit to have).

Secondly, I just don’t have the time to stay on top of my social media. Honestly, most of the time I’m surprised that I even know what’s going on in my own life, let alone on the internet, or in the world in general. I’ve kept quite a few blogs in my life, but I’ve never been able to post consistently in them. I follow a couple of full-time bloggers, but the impression I’ve gotten from some of their posts is that in order to do what they do they’ve had to make blogging their full-time job.

I don’t think I could ever do that. I don’t think my life or my thoughts about the world are nearly interesting enough to create a constant stream of content around it. (Is it exhausting, I wonder, having to be interesting? Isn’t that what using social media for a living entails?)

No thanks. Maintaining social media for a living sounds exhausting and stressful. Who has the time?

Sources (images):

https://memesuper.com/categories/view/841f3af5b23c08e42e0f2a36b26ad19b35edf200/i-like-to-live-on-the-edge-meme.html

Leave a Reply

