I Wonder

I wonder what my life would be like without social media and the internet. I wonder how I would connect with my friends and family. I wonder what I would do with all my free time. Mostly, I wonder if I’d be happier.

I usually spend about 4 hours on my news feeds a day. This number varies from 2-7 hours I would guess (Sometimes I get REALLY bored in class). In the past year, I have only gone 5 days without social media, and that was because it was for a school paper to see if it would be difficult to remove it out of my life for a work week.
It was way harder than I thought.

I ask my mum all the time how she actually made plans with people without the internet or cellphones… CAN YOU IMAGINE?!? Like how does one even use a pager? She replies with a shrug and always says it was harder but everyone was used to being not constantly accessible.

That has been on my mind a lot lately. I wonder what life would be like if I wasn’t so accessible.  My cell phone always sits arms reach away and anyone can contact me at any time on 4 different social media platforms plus text and calling. I have been use to this for years now. People nowadays get legitimately mad if you do not reply in an hours time. There is always a sense of urgency when someone does not reply, and I wonder how I would feel if it was the norm to “get back to someone when you can.”

I am a big advocate of living life to the fullest and personal growth. I try to fill my life with activities that help me grow as a human. I usually tend to snapchat these activites or take lots of photos for my instagram. Sometimes I catch myself over-documenting situations for my social media when I should be just making memories. This scares me because I feel like I can’t enjoy most things unless I share them with my friends. I wonder if I am living for my social media more than myself.

Social media, like many things in this crazy world, is a blessing in disguise. It allows me to discover and acheive many interests but I cannot beat the feeling of reliance on it. This wonder won’t dissapear unless I remove the internet out of my life, and heck no to that! I guess I will just have to live with it?

I wonder if you feel the same way.

2 thoughts on “I Wonder

  1. Your point on the sense of urgency of not getting a response back right away from someone totally resonated with me. I can’t tell you how many times i’ve gotten frustrated with someone for not responding to my text in what I deemed to be an ‘acceptable amount’. I also have tried to go without social media for a few days, but i’ve realized I legitimately can’t. My whole life, my contact with certain employers and family and even my school is surrounded by social media. I’m not quite sure if that’s pathetic yet, but i’ll re-evaluate and let you know. But side-note Great Article!!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. God, that’s relatable. Getting Snapchat has made me the most obnoxious person on earth when it comes to documenting everything and sharing it for all of my contacts to see. Great job!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

