Putting a Private Person out on Public Social Media: A Media Reflection

I will be the first to say that putting myself out on the internet sounded terrifying. I’m the kind of person that has a private Instagram page, and won’t put pictures of my face up, has a private Facebook page and doesn’t post unless something important in my life is happening, and wasn’t on any other social media until I started this class. The idea of having my own website and a Twitter and a blog was intimidating, because it meant I had to jump out of my little internet bubble and try something new.

Image result for going on an adventure gif

Funny story: I actually enjoyed it a lot. After Twitter shut my account down three times because it thought I was a robot when I wouldn’t give it my phone number, that is. The 140 character limit was a huuuuuuuge issue for someone as overly-verbose as me, but it challenged me to get my message across in a succinct manner. It was also fun to manipulate the language to fit within the constraints of the word limit. Knowing that I’m capable of bring short when I need to definitely gave me a stronger belief in my writing abilities.

Image result for fitness  supernatural gif

The website was a bit of a stretch, because I’m not used to putting a bunch of information out about me, hence the reason it’s a Taekwon-Do blog and not a Kyra blog. Having to put my face on the blog? That was a challenge and a half for privacy-focused me. It was really fun though, because it allowed me to share my knowledge and skill set to a vast audience. I got to talk about things I cared about, and show off one of the most important parts of my life. I’m not saying I’ll continue blogging on that site specifically (but it’s possible); however, I know that it’s something I’ll probably play with for the next few years. If you want to check it out, you can find it at: https://forevertaekwondo.wordpress.com/

Image result for supernatural active gif

Blogging on this page was the best. I’d never tried my hand at blogging before, and having the chance to was really interesting, because it got me writing in a form I never knew I would enjoy so much. Being able to choose my topics and write about communications topics helped me realize that I have strong opinions on far more things than I thought (and that I can express them in a fun and funny manner). As a writer, it’s reminded me that my opinion and my words can make a difference, and knowing that I can do my part in making the world a better place.

Image result for writer world gif

In essence, I feel like I’m far more comfortable putting myself out on the internet now. Does that mean I’m going public with all my accounts and plastering my face everywhere? Definitely not. Does it mean I’m more likely to embrace new social media in the future? Probably. Does it mean I’m going to blog more often in the future? Abso-freaking-loutely.

Image result for supernatural yes gif

On that note, I bid this blog a fond farewell. We’ve been through many exciting, gif-filled adventures together. I’ll see you around, Internet.

Image result for breakfast club gif

 

2 thoughts on “Putting a Private Person out on Public Social Media: A Media Reflection

  1. I’m so glad to see that this class brought you to the internet! Most of the time classes don’t have this life changing effect on people, it’s really refreshing to see. I’ll keep reading your blogs as long as you keep writing them.

    Like

  2. I loved reading your blog post! I am so glad that I am not the only one who was terrified to put myself out on the internet…the only difference between you and I is that I am still terrified! 😛 it’s awesome that you found a love to blog and that you are embracing the internet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

