Print Media and the Book Industry

When people ask me what university program I’m in, “Professional Communications” usually grants a blank face and slightly concerned chuckle from whatever distant relative has asked me.

giphy.gif

“I’m hoping to get into book editing,” I reply in the awkward silence that follows. And their reactions are generally something like this: “Oh. Do people still read real books?”

God, I hope so.

However, they aren’t wrong when they think of the book industry and it’s decreasing popularity. Of course, we still see big name companies like Chapters Indigo and Barnes & Noble still selling a great deal of print books, but in recent years the book industry has been on some pretty rocky ground. It’s true that with the rise of digital media, print media’s future has been up in the air.

“It’s a transformation that began with the rise of Amazon as an online bookseller and accelerated with the resulting decline of the physical bookstore,” says Wired magazine. However, the major shift happened when the e-book was introduced, which cut publisher’s production and distribution costs in half, but also made the books’ cover prices much cheaper.

giphy-1.gif

2017 readers are constantly connected online, always on the go, and used to having information exactly when they need it, so it’s not surprising that books and other print media are taking second place to digital media. This poses a huge problem for book publishers as they still have similar costs as they once did to produce books, but print sales (where they make up a lot of the profit) are down. Also, it makes it especially difficult for independent publishers to keep up with the big name publishers like Random House Penguin and Simon & Schuster.

This is a pivotal time for the book industry as the shift from print to digital has begun, and yet, it seems as though it hasn’t quite transformed in a new age of publishing. Book publishers, both independent and corporate, are still clinging on to how things used to be with print media, refusing to adapt to the changing environment. In the years to come, with a new wave of book publishing and editors, it is essential for the industry to find an new and innovative ways to produce and sell books, whether that be by jumping on the digital media train wholeheartedly or revive the print media in a drastic way.

giphy-2.gif

 Sources:

https://www.wired.com/2013/03/publishing-industry-next-chapter/

2 thoughts on “Print Media and the Book Industry

  1. I purchased an e-book by mistake once because it was half the price of a print version. Although I do prefer reading on an actual printed page, I can see why consumers might want to purchase e-books instead. E-books are cost effective as well as easy to lug around. But I’ll never give in. Excuse me while I stuff 3 huge paperback books into my backpack….

    Like

  2. I LOVE actual printed books and I completely agree with you on how people react when I tell them I want to be a novel editor. It slightly worries me but at the same time I feel that no matter what people do, print will always be apart of the world. I remember when I got a kindle for my birthday years ago and I could not stand it. even though it was cheaper and convenient, it just wasn’t the same. That would be like asking those who love sports to just watch it on television or online instead of going to the actual game because it’s more convenient and cheaper…IT’S JUST NOT THE SAME! Thanks for your awesome post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

