Branding Balance

Lately I’ve been struggling with this idea of how individuals choose to balance all of our different social media platforms, and decide how we will use each platform to reach different audiences and convey different messages. For organizations and brands, this decision may be more simple; choose your core message, or story, or mission, or vision, and use different platforms to relay those messages cohesively and complimentary to one another.

An example I can think of on a local scale is Hive Fit Co., a spin, row, and yoga studio that opened downtown in the fall. They have an Instagram account, which is stylistically beautiful, cohesive, and personal; they have a Facebook page, which is for more formal updates and events (although these are often also posted on Insta); and they have a website, which is where customers can find prices, class schedules, frequent asked questions, and contact information. The style and theme of these platforms are the same, and they all convey the same message: “come get sweaty with a hip new studio downtown Edmonton, #HiveTribe.” Coming up with these platforms obviously took time and effort—the design is beautiful and the brand is easily identifiable—but I would argue that that actually makes managing these individual sites easier: if you have a template for your brand message, following that template on different media channels becomes less complicated.

What I’ve been struggling with, though, is how we as individuals (usually with nothing to sell to the world but our own personalities), can manage a multitude of different media channels without conforming to one personal “brand.” It’s this reason that I’ve decided for the purposes of our personal brand assignment to display myself as someone who’s intent, or story, or mission, or vision, is to find balance. I don’t want to limit myself to one “brand” across all of my media channels yet, not before I’m given a chance to decide what I want that brand to be. I am a student, so I found that Tumblr had an endless amount of “studyspo” for when I need motivation; I am a beauty and lifestyle media junkie, so Pinterest was obviously my go-to for everything related to those things; I like to think I have an alright sense of humour and a desire to connect with friends in short-form, so my personal Twitter account is perfect for this.

So what do you think? Do organizations have it easy when it comes to branding themselves online and keeping up with many different media outlets? Do you conform to one “brand” across your different social platforms? Can we recognize a persons’ abundance of interests and personality traits and balancing the desire to communicate these with the desire to present a cohesive, “branded” image online? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Shaleigh

2 thoughts on “Branding Balance

  1. I think in theory brands often think it’s easy, but the amount of time and effort you need to put into keeping it up often results in brands getting overwhelmed and having it slowly spiral into disarray.

    Like

Leave a Reply

