Twitter Scavenger Hunt #TeamMelBeck

Becka’s Take:

While I was a little nervous about this assignment at the beginning, I enjoyed the challenge of getting out of my comfort zone to get some of the tweets. It seems counterintuitive for a communications student to have nerves about talking to people, but here I am. For me, interviewing students and professors for tweets to promote our account  was really difficult, but the more I did it, the easier it became.

Twitter has huge potential for businesses and organizations to reach people, and its limitations teach its users to say what they need to succinctly. Making effective use of hashtags and engaging with other users are some of the best ways that I’ve learned to use Twitter and I imagine that those lessons would be put to good use in service of an account that belonged to an organization. I also found that scrolling through the feed, I was more interested in reading tweets that had engaging images.

I have noticed that Twitter accounts like @CityofEdmonton have high quality images, something that my partner on this project also does well. This is something I know I need to work on (though having a phone that hasn’t been dropped a thousand times and chewed on by two kids would probably help). I have also noticed that hashtags that are used often are quite short, which is something I wish that I had done when creating our team hashtag (11 letters is way too many). These lessons have already been put to good use on my personal Twitter account and I look forward to using them as I grow in my professional career.

Melissa’s Take:

Hi. I’m Melissa L.A. (like the city) Bishop (like the chess piece). This semester I am finishing my second year in my communications degree with my major of choice being in journalism. I am a mum of a two-year boy named Sam, I am starting a photography business, and I sometimes work close to full-time hours while doing a full course load.

Now that we have the low-down on me, here’s my personal experience story:

I have to be honest, The Twitter Scavenger Hunt in Fitzpatrick’s Online Communication class was a unique experience in my university career. For starters, I am an avid user of Facebook and Instagram, but the Twittersphere universe is completely virgin territory to my personal internet engagement. I initially looked over the assignment and thought:

“Great this is something I can quickly complete in a single afternoon,” but like most ideas of how much work is actually required for quality results, I was sadly mistaken.

The most challenging part of this assignment was conquering my contemptuous feelings for this, in my opinion, far too concise online space occupied by enthusiasts such as Donald Trump and Kim Kardashian. I felt like Twitter lacked any substantial substance. I am also a poet and a creative writer who tends to go over word counts for 1500 word papers. I love verbose text that is intellectually stimulating. Twitter just never seemed to register on my radar never mind trigger any interest. So now imagine a novice with a self-proclaimed loathing for a social media space, trying to write statuses succinctly in 140 characters. It was difficult. A lot of back spacing; A lot of deleting; A lot of work…

I come from working eight years in marketing, the music industry, and public relations, so I understand the concepts quite well for publicizing an organization or a brand. The key is just knowing your audience and using media that will appeal to that particular group of spectators and/or demographic. People in this technological age tend to love immersive technologies and visual media, and thus, tweaking your brand/organization to encourage viewership or participation, and making use of high-quality videos and photos that are creative and masterfully put together will help engage an audience to a brands advantage. I believe that the most efficient social media teams conceptualize, produce and edit their visual content with a masterful eye, and are successful when they have a clear understanding of how that information might be interpreted by their target demographic.

Storify:

https://storify.com/melissaandbecka/bscs-202-twitter-scavenger-hunt

Leave a Reply

