A Blog? What The Hell Am I Supposed To Do With THIS??”

Or, in a nutshell, “I’d rather be installing THIS…”

bored-out440with4speed

“…than THIS.”

social-icons

Well, here we are.  My first “blog.”  I’ve heard of “blogs” before, but, like all other types of social media, they hold NO interest for me.  In order to really get a handle on this whole “blog” business, I actually had to look up the meaning.  According to the Cambridge English Dictionary, it means, “[A] regular record of your thoughts, opinions, or experiences that you put on the Internet for other people to read.”  Okaaaaaaay.  Really?  Am I so important that anyone would care, or am I just so narcissistic that I think people WOULD care?  I’d like to think that a healthy, realistic view of my relative insignificance in the grand scheme of things explains why I have never felt the need to try to become some sort of cyber-space superstar, and yet, here we are.  Cyberspace superstar or not (emphasis on the NOT), it looks like I’m (involuntarily) going to be part of the “blogosphere.”  And, yes, sad to say, that is an actual word.

So, how does one effectively blog ABOUT social media when one has no interest in it? What effect does it have on me, when I simply go about my day-to-day routine?  I do lots of things online and offline during the course of my day, and I’m pretty sure that of all the interactions I may have during my average day, NONE of them revolve around, or involve, social media – or am I wrong?

A bit of investigation has proven that I am partially right, and partially wrong.  Partially right, because, yes, I do NOT have subscriptions to Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, Instagram, Myspace, or any other of GAWD-knows how many social media-type platforms, applications, or whatever they may be.  Partially wrong, however, because I do subscribe to Internet forums for my hobbies…tinkering on my car and doing woodworking.

I guess my issue is that I never really associated my Internet forums as a form of social media.  When the term was mentioned, I always thought of the “I’m going to post a picture of my food on Facebook”-type of thing.  However, if we take the Cambridge English Dictionary’s meaning of “social media” to mind, to wit, “[W]ebsites and computer programs that allow people to communicate and share information on the Internet using a computer or mobile phone.“

Hmmmm.  Looks like I am part of the social media insanity.

References

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/blog

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/blogosphere

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/social-media

Leave a Reply

